Correct Horse Battery Staple

icyflame198:

Excited to attempt this challenge, maybe even generate my new password out of it!

Originally posted on Programming Praxis:

In his 936th xkcd comic strip, Randall Munro described what is wrong with common passwords and suggested a method of passphrase generation that is simpler to use and provides greater security. Unfortunately, I know of no popular websites that permit xkcd-style passphrases. I do still recall, however, the xkcd-style passphrase that CompuServe assigned me about twenty-five years ago (does anyone else remember upgrading from a 1200 baud modem to 9600 baud?)

Your task is to write an xkcd-style passphrase generator. When you are finished, you are welcome to read or run a suggested solution, or to post your own solution or discuss the exercise in the comments below.

The only hard part of this exercise is creating a word list, as standard system dictionaries include strange and uncommon words that wouldn’t work well. I found a list of the 5000 most common English words at English Club, removed…

View original 206 more words

About icyflame198

I am a computer programmer and currently a Junior majoring in the Real Time Interactive Simulation program at DigiPen Institute of Technology. Through the DigiPen core curriculum of programming and math I have proficient skills in C and C++. In addition to C and C++ and to further my knowledge of cross platform development, I am learning new languages like Python, JavaScript, Ruby on Rails, and ActionScript. The skills I have acquired can be seen in the games I have developed in conjunction with other team members at DigiPen. You can view these games and get further information on this website. I am very passionate and committed to my profession. I am very interested in mobile app development, user interface, and optimization. I seek to learn as much as I can and apply my knowledge to any task at hand, I strive to be a generalist programmer that can adapt and solve any problem presented.

Leave a Reply

Adam Estela Programming Bliss

TheMeaningOfLifeIs(){ return The MeaningOfLifeIs(); }

David James Coding Blog

Coding, Simple as that

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

